• Home
  • >
  • Calendar
  • >
  • Rally
  • >
  • News
  • >
  • Paddon leads the group for the final 2022 TER - Tour European Rally round in Sardinia

Paddon leads the group for the final 2022 TER - Tour European Rally round in Sardinia


Two title fights over two days of action at Rally Terra Sarda 


Two must be the lucky number on the roads of Rally Terra Sarda, last round of the 2022 TER - Tour European Rally: two title fights, TER Overall and TER Historic, over two days of action, both with only two contenders.


TER Ambassador Hayden Paddon (Hyundai New Zealand driver - 2011 PWRC World Champion - Hyundai Motorsport WRC works driver – winner of the 2016 WRC Rally Argentina), codriven by Jared Hudson and driving a Hyundai i20 R5, will lead the pack of 12 crews from 12 nationalities. To secure the Championship, Paddon must beat current leader Ivan Ballinari. The 2-time Swiss Champion, on the usual Volkswagen Polo R5 by Roger Tuning, will be codriven by Elena Giovenale.


The two title contenders will also have to face 2017 JWRC and WRC3 World Champion Nil Solans, from Spain, on a Skoda Fabia Rally2, codriven by Luka Larrosa.


Starting her second TER - Tour European Rally event of the year, after the opening round in Rally Terra Valli del Tevere, 2-time Italian Ladies Champion Rachele Somaschini, codriven by local Fabio Salis on a Citroen C3 Rally2, will start Rally Terra Sarda with the number 8.


Two interesting come backs in the TER Series are Henk Bakkenes (Skoda Fabia Rally2), codriven by Ida Kristin Lidebjer, and Simon Vallentin, driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII with Sara Haulrik.


Also on a Skoda Fabia R5, Pierre Baltolu and Cler Gielles will take the challenge of Sardinian roads, which will be really enjoyed by the Italian crew Emanuele Farris - Giuseppe Pirisinu on the rear wheel drive Abarth 124 Rally RGT.

In the TER Junior, Mexican brothers Patrice and Nicolas Spitalier (2021 Junior NACAM champions) will continue their learning curve on a Peugeot 208 Rally4.


In TER 2WD, the local Michele Liceri, codriven by Salvatore Mendola, will compete on a Peugeot 208 Rally4


Final title showdown also in TER Historic, where Tim Metcalfe (Ford Escort MK2), codriven by John Connor, will give it all to secure a second TER Historic championship, but Mèsziati (Lada 21011), codriven by Csaba Keleksenyi, won’t give up the fight easily.